Which MPs are standing down at the 2019 election?

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Over 70 MPs have announced they will be standing down ahead of the December 12 general election.

Politicians that have confirmed their intentions to leave their roles, include Commons Speaker John Bercow and Culture Secretary Nicky Morgan.

In her resignation letter, Ms Morgan said being an MP had had a "clear impact" on her family, adding that "the abuse" she received "can only be justified if, ultimately, Parliament does what it is supposed to do".

The House of Commons will lose around 750 years of combined parliamentary experience as a result of the MP exodus.

So who is stepping down?



Sir Alan Duncan, MP for Rutland and Melton

Alistair Burt, MP for North East Bedfordshire

Bill Grant, MP for Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock

Dame Caroline Spelman, MP for Meriden

Claire Perry, MP for Devizes

David Lidington, MP for Aylesbury

David Tredinnick, MP for Bosworth

Ed Vaizey, MP for Wantage and Didcot

Glyn Davies, MP for Montgomeryshire

Sir Hugo Swire, MP for East Devon

Jeremy Lefroy, MP for Stafford

Jo Johnson, MP for Orpington

Keith Simpson, MP for Broadland

Mark Field, MP for Cities of London and Westminster

Mark Lancaster, MP for Milton Keynes North

Margot James, MP for Stourbridge

Mark Prisk, MP for Hertford & Stortford

Michael Fallon, MP for Sevenoaks

Mims Davies, MP for Eastleigh

Sir Nicholas Soames, MP for Mid Sussex

Nick Herbert, MP for Arundel and South Downs

Sir Henry Bellingham, MP for North West Norfolk

Nick Hurd, Ruislip, MP for Northwood and Pinner

Nicky Morgan, MP for Loughborough

Sir Patrick McLoughlin, MP for Derbyshire Dales

Peter Heaton-Jones, MP for North Devon

Richard Benyon, MP for Newbury

Richard Harrington, MP for Watford

Ross Thomson, MP for Aberdeen South

Sarah Newton, MP for Truro and Falmouth

Seema Kennedy, MP for South Ribble



Adrian Bailey, MP for West Bromwich West

Albert Owen, MP for Ynys Mon

Ann Clwyd, MP for Cynon Valley

Geoffrey Robinson, MP for Coventry North West

Gloria De Piero, MP for Ashfield

Helen Jones, MP for Warrington North

Ian Lucas, MP for Wrexham

Jim Cunningham, MP for Coventry South

Jim Fitzpatrick, MP for Poplar and Limehouse

John Mann, MP for Bassetlaw

Kate Hoey, MP for Vauxhall

Kelvin Hopkins, MP for Luton North 

Keith Vaz, MP for Leicester East

Sir Kevin Barron, MP for Rother Valley

Louise Ellman, MP for Liverpool Riverside

Owen Smith, MP for Pontypridd

Paul Farrelly, MP for Newcastle-under-Lyme

Roberta Blackman-Woods, MP for City of Durham

Ronnie Campbell, MP for Blyth Valley

Stephen Pound, MP for Ealing North

Stephen Twigg, MP for​​​​​​​ Liverpool West Derby

Teresa Pearce, MP for Erith and Thamesmead

Tom Watson, MP for West Bromwich East


Liberal Democrat

Sir Norman Lamb, MP for North Norfolk

Sir Vince Cable, MP for Twickenham

Heidi Allen, MP for South Cambridgeshire



Guto Bebb, MP for Aberconwy

Oliver Letwin, MP for West Dorset

Ian Austin, MP for Dudley North 

Justine Greening, MP for Putney

John Woodcock, MP for Barrow and Furness

Ken Clarke, MP for Rushcliffe

Nick Boles, MP for Grantham

Amber Rudd, MP for Hastings and Rye

Joan Ryan, MP for Enfield North

Rory Stewart, MP for Penrith and the Border

Sylvia Hermon, MP for North Down

Philip Hammond, MP for Runnymede and Weybridge


Independent Group for Change

Ann Coffey, MP for Stockport



John Bercow, MP for Buckingham