Who is in Boris Johnson's Cabinet?

New Cabinet members were appointed last night

Thursday, July 25, 2019

Britain's new Prime Minister appointed his Cabinet last night.

More than half of Theresa May's Cabinet was sacked - or decided to quit - under Boris Johnson.

Here's your guide to who he has chosen to join his top team:


Chancellor of the Exchequer - Sajid Javid

Mr Javid was once Boris Johnson's rival in this year's leadership race.

He was formerly Home Secretary under Theresa May, and said he was "deeply honoured" to be appointed Chancellor.


Home Secretary - Priti Patel

The Brexiteer is in favour of capital punishment, and publicly supports hanging.

She was formerly International Development Secretary, but resigned from Mrs May's Cabinet in November 2017 after it emerged she had been having unauthorised meetings with Israeli politicians.


Foreign Secretary - Dominic Raab

Stuanch Brexiteer Mr Raab was also a vying for the role of Prime Minister, but began backing Mr Johnson after he was knocked out of the race.

He is now effectively Mr Johnson's deputy Prime Minister


Brexit Secretary - Stephen Barclay

Stephen Barclay has retained his role as Brexit Secretary.


Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster - Michael Gove

Mr Johnson's Vote Leave colleague has been moved to become the Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster.

He previously held the role of Environment Secretary in Mrs May's Cabinet.


Defence Secretary - Ben Wallace

The former security minister has been appointed Defence Secretary, replacing Penny Mordaunt.

Mr Wallace said he had "big shoes to fill".

He tweeted: "I would like to pay tribute to my predecessor, Penny Mordaunt. She is a wonderful colleague and did a great job at the MoD. Big shoes to fill."


International Trade Secretary - Liz Truss

The new International Trade Secretary was a vocal supporter of Boris Johnson throughout his leadership campaign.

She was previously second-in-command at the Treasury.


Health & Social Care Secretary - Matt Hancock

Matt Hancock has retained his role as Health Secretary.

After his appointment, he tweeted: "I love the NHS".


Environment Secretary - Theresa Villiers

Brexiteer Theresa Villiers has replace Michael Gove as Environment Secretary.

She was formerly Northern Ireland Secretary.


Education Secretary - Gavin Williamson

Gavin Williamson becomes Education Secretary, less than three months after he was sacked from defence over suspicions he leaked details of Huawei discussions from the National Security Council.

He famously kept a Mexican redknee tarantula on his desk when he was chief whip, reportedly to intimidate MPs and keep them in line.


Culture Secretary - Nicky Morgan

Ms Morgan is now the Culture Secretary.

She was formerly chair of the Commons Treasury Select Committee.


Business Secretary - Andrea Leadsom

Former Commons leader Ms Leadsom was eliminated in the first round of this year's leadership race.

She has now been appointed Business Secretary.


Housing & Communities Secretary - Robert Jenrick

Mr Jenrick is now Housing & Communities Secretary, formerly holding the role of Treasury minister.

He voted to remain in the 2016 referendum.


Work & Pensions, Women & Equalities - Amber Rudd

Amber Rudd has held onto her role as Work and Pensions Secretary.


Justice Secretary - Robert Buckland

Robert Buckland replaces David Gauke, who promised to resign if Boris Johnson won the leadership race, as Justice Secretary.

He has previously spoken out against a no-deal Brexit, maintaining there must be compromise between the UK and EU.


International Development Secretary - Alok Sharma

Replacing Rory Stewart as International Development Secretary is Alok Sharma.

He was formerly employment minister.


Transport Secretary - Grant Shapps

Former international development minister Grant Shapps replaces Chris Grayling as Transport Secretary.

Mr Shapps helped to organise Mr Johnson's leadership campaign.


Conservative Party chairman - James Cleverly

Responding to news of his appointment as Conservative Party chair, Mr Cleverly shared a gif of an excited child on his Twitter page.

"The Prine [sic] Minister has asked me to become the Chairman of the Conservatives. An honour beyond measure," he wrote.


Welsh Secretary - Alun Cairns

Alun Cairns will remain Welsh Secretary.


Scottish Secretary - Alister Jack

Mr Johnson's new Scottish Secretary founded tent-hire and self-storage companies, and is also a dairy farmer.

He supports "a successful Brexit for Scotland".


Northern Ireland Secretary - Julian Smith

Former chief whip Julian Smith has been appointed Northern Ireland Secretary.


Leader of Lords - Baroness Evans

Baroness Evans of Bowes Park will remain Leader of the House of Lords.


Leader of Commons - Jacob Rees-Mogg

Founder of the European Research Group, Jacob Rees-Mogg, will become leader of the House of Commons.

Downing Street have announced that the arch-Brexiteer will not be a full member of the Cabinet, but will still be in attendance at meetings.

It is considered one of the most dramatic Cabinet appointments.