Anna Soubry becomes Change UK leader after six MPs quit

Anna Soubry becomes Change UK leader after six MPs quit

Six MPs, including the party's original leader Heidi Allen, have quit Change UK

Tuesday, June 4, 2019

Anna Soubry has been announced as the new leader of Change UK, following the departure of six MPs.

The split comes just four months after the 11 Conservative and Labour MPs formed the party.

Former leader Heidi Allen was one of the six MPs to leave, along with ex-Labour MPs Chuka Umunna and Luciana Berger.

In a joint statement, the six said they were leaving so that they “will be best placed to work cross party and respond flexibly”.

“We are very grateful to everyone who has supported us over the past four months since we left our respective political parties,” the statement said.

“Heidi Allen, Luciana Berger, Gavin Shuker, Angela Smith, Chuka Umunna and Sarah Wollaston have made the decision to leave Change UK returning to supporting each other as an independent grouping of MPs.”

The MPs added that it was their priority “to provide collegiate leadership to bring people together in the national interest”.

The announcement comes after the party suffered dismal European election results, in which the pro-Remain party failed to win a single seat.

The remaining Change UK MPs are; Ms Soubry, Chris Leslie, Joan Ryan, Mike Gapes and Ann Coffey.

Read more

Jacob Rees-Mogg: Leadership race ‘getting out of control’

Richard Tice: Tories and Labour 'out of touch' with voters