Brecon and Radnorshire by-election: Six candidates confirmed

Chris Davies

Chris Davies MP was sacked from the seat

Friday, July 5, 2019

Six candidates have been confirmed for the upcoming Brecon and Radnorshire by-election.

The seat has been vacated by Conservative MP Chris Davies, who was sacked by his constituents last month over his conviction for submitting false expenses claims.

Despite this, Mr Davies will be fighting for his old seat, which he has held since 2015.

The by-election will take place on August 1, with the Conservatives, the Welsh Liberal Democrats, The Brexit Party, Welsh Labour, UKIP, and the Official Monster Raving Loony Party all fielding candidates.

Plaid Cymru and the Green Party will both be supporting the Lib Dem candidate Jane Dodds, with Plaid leader Adam Price saying the two pro-remain parties will be working together to "avoid a disastrous Brexit".

The by-election will be the first electoral test for Theresa May's successor as Prime Minister.

The confirmed candidates are:

The Conservative Party - Chris Davies

The Welsh Liberal Democrats - Jane Dodds

The Brexit Party - Des Parkinson

Welsh Labour - Tomos Davies

UKIP - Liz Phillips

The Official Monster Raving Loony Party - Lady Lily The Pink

Read more

No ballots burned in Peterborough by-election, police rule

Peterborough by-election: Labour beats Brexit Party by 683 votes