Dozens hurt after train crashes in Philadelphia

Dozens hurt after train crashes in Philadelphia

The incident took place overnight at the 69th Street Transportation Center (Credit: Twitter @CBSPittsburgh)

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

A large number of people have been injured in America after a train crash on the east coast. 

The Southeastern Pennsylvania Train Authority (Septa) confirmed two trains had been involved in an overnight collision at the 69th Street Transportation Center in Philadelphia. 

The Norristown High Speed Line train was arriving into the terminal around 12:10am EST (5:10 GMT) when it collided with an unoccupied train which had been left at the platform. 

At least 42 people were injured in the incident, and were taken to hospitals around the city.

While none of the injuries have been deemed to be life-threatening, it's believed four people are in a serious condition. 

Despite the incident, officials from Septa have said service will resume as normal from 4:20am EST (9:20 GMT).

Comments