EU will allow visa-free travel to UK citizens post-Brexit


Friday, February 1, 2019

EU ambassadors have agreed that UK citizens will be entitled to visa-free travel post-Brexit, even in the event of a no-deal.

British travellers will be able to travel to the bloc's Schengen area - made up of 26 European countries - if travelling for a short stay, defined as 90 days in any 180 days.

Despite the agreement, it is expected that travellers will be charged a £6.15 fee every three years as part of the new  European Travel Information and Authorisation System, due to come into effect in 2021.

The EU document outlining the plans also says that if the UK implement visa requirements for EU citizens, it may terminate the visa-free travel for UK citizens.



A statement issued by the Council of the EU said: "Ambassadors mandated the Council Presidency to start negotiations with the European Parliament on this legislative proposal.

"According to EU rules, visa exemption is granted on condition of reciprocity.

"The government of the United Kingdom has stated that it does not intend to require avisa from EU citizens travelling to the UK for short stays.

"In the event that the United Kingdom introduces a visa requirement for nationals of at least one member state in the future, the existing reciprocity mechanism would apply and the three institutions and the member states would commit to act without delay in applying the mechanism."