Jacob Rees-Mogg hands in letter of no confidence against Theresa May

Jacob Rees-Mogg threatens to put in a no confidence letter against Theresa May

Thursday, November 15, 2018

The Brexiteer MP Jacob Rees-Mogg has handed in a letter of no confidence against Theresa May following the publication of her EU Withdrawal agreement on Wednesday night.

Mr Rees-Mogg has handed in his letter to Sir Graham Brady, chairman of the 1922 Committee, saying Theresa May's Brexit deal "has turned out to be worse than anticipated and fails to meet the promises given to the nation by the Prime Minister".

Earlier on Thursday he asked Mrs May if he should send in a letter now that what she says and what she does “no longer match”.

The MP for North East Somerset addressed the Prime Minister in the House of Commons on Thursday, as she answered questions on her deal.

“My right honourable friend, and she is unquestionably honourable, said that we would leave the customs union – Annex 2 says otherwise,” he said.

“My right honourable friend said that she would maintain the integrity of the United Kingdom – the Protocol says otherwise.

“My right honourable friend said that we would be out of the jurisdiction of the European Court of Justice – Article 174 says otherwise.

“As what my right honourable friend says and what my right honourable friend does no longer match – should I not write to my right honourable friend the Member for Altrincham and Sale West?”


'In good conscience' 

Jacob Rees-Mogg MP's letter stating he will not support Theresa May's proposed EU agreement. 

Mr Rees-Mogg published a letter on Wednesday night saying he would not support the agreement because it does not “match up to early expectations”.

Addressing other Conservative MPs, he called on them to not support Mrs May’s proposed agreement.

He wrote: “Like you I supported the Prime Minister in her early approach to the Brexit negotiations.

“I agreed with her Lancaster house speech that this should be built around the ability of the UK to take back control of our laws, borders and money while safeguarding our precious Union.

“Unfortunately the proposals for a UK/EU agreement released today do not match up to those early expectations.”

Since the proposed agreement was published on Wednesday night, five ministers have resigned from the Cabinet.

Brexit Secretary Dominic Raab resigned on Thursday morning saying he could not “in good conscience” support Mrs May’s agreement.

Work and Pensions Secretary Esther McVey also resigned on Thursday over the agreement.