MPs back Brexit delay


MPs are currently voting on four main amendments in the House of Commons

Thursday, March 14, 2019

MPs are voting today on whether to extend Article 50, which would mean the date of Brexit would be pushed back if the European Union agrees. Refresh this page for the latest Brexit news.


6.25pm - MPs back delay to Brexit

MPs have backed a government motion to ask the EU for a delay to Article 50 by a 210-vote majority.

A total of 412 MPs have voted to delay Brexit, with just 202 voting against the motion.

As a result of the vote, the government will seek to extend Article 50 until June 30, 2019.

If a Brexit deal is not agreed before March 20, the length of the extension could differ.

Responding to the vote, Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn said: "All of us now have the opportunity and responsibility to work together and find a solution to the crisis facing this country.

"We have begun to hold meetings with members across the House to find consensus and compromise that meets the needs of this country."


6.09pm - Labour's amendment rejected

Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn

A Labour amendment calling for Brexit to be delayed to find a "different approach" has been rejected by a 16-vote majority.

A total of 318 voted against the amendment which asked for an unspecified extension to Article 50, with 302 voting in favour of it.


5.50pm - MPs reject further Brexit votes

Bercow announces the result of the Benn amendment vote

MPs have rejected the Benn amendment, which would give Parliament the power to control the next steps on Brexit.

A total of 314 voted against having extra time to debate the next steps, and hold a vote on alternative Brexit options next Wednesday, with 312 voting in favour of it.

There were fears the amendment could derail House of Commons procedure for the next two weeks if it passed, as it creates time every day for a debate.


5.30pm - Brexit date change rejected

Lucy Powell tabled the amendment asking for a June 30 Brexit

MPs have voted against an amendment tabled by Labour MP Lucy Powell to the existing Benn amendment to change the day Brexit happens.

The original Benn amendment called for an extension to Article 50, but Ms Powell's addition asks specifically for Brexit day to be deferred to June 30.

A total of 314 voted against moving the date, with 311 voting in favour of it.


5.15pm - MPs reject second referendum amendment

MPs have rejected an amendment calling for a new EU referendum by a majority of 249.

Just 85 voted in favour of another referendum, with 334 voting against.

The rejected amendment was a a cross-party request for a second referendum, tabled by Independent Group member Sarah Wollaston.


5.00pm - Voting commences

MPs are now voting on a series of amendments, including whether there should be a second referendum.


3.30pm - Trump: Brexit 'tearing the country apart'

Donald Trump with Irish PM Leo Varadkar at the White House in Washington

US president Donald Trump has said Brexit is "tearing the country apart".

Trump made the comments during a meeting with Irish PM Leo Varadkar at the White House in Washington.

He added that he was "surprised at how badly" EU negotiations had been handled, and claimed he had previously offered advice to Mrs May which she had ignored.

The Trump-Varadkar meeting took place to mark St Patrick's Day, which takes place on Sunday.


1.50pm - 'Accept defeat' Sturgeon tells PM

Nicola Sturgeon during First Minister's Questions

The SNP leader has urged the Prime Minister to "accept defeat" on her Brexit deal, ahead of a vote on extending Article 50 tonight.

Speaking during First Minister's Questions, Ms Sturgeon said Mrs May needed "change course" on Brexit, and accused her of "bullying" MPs into backing her proposals.

"Let's get no-deal properly off the table, let's seek a lengthy extension to allow this issue to go back to the people," she said.

"There is not support for leaving the EU, there is certainly not support for leaving on the basis of such a profoundly bad deal."


12.30pm - Amendments chosen

Speaker of the House of Commons John Bercow

John Bercow has selected the amendments that will be voted on in the Commons tonight.

The first to be voted on is amendment H, a cross-party request for a second referendum which would have remain as an option. It was tabled by Independent Group member Sarah Wollaston and has been backed by around 30 MPs.

The second is the Benn amendment, which would allow MPs to debate the next steps on Brexit on March 20. The amendment is designed to "enable the House of Commons to find a way forward that can command majority support”.



This amendment could potentially derail the House of Commons process for the next two weeks, as it creates time every day for a debate.

The third is the Labour amendment, which asks for an unspecified extension to Article 50 to avoid leaving the EU without a deal and to find a "different approach".

And the final amendment is the Bryant amendment, which could give speaker John Bercow the power to block another vote on the Prime Minister's deal, as it has already been voted down by Parliament twice.


12.15pm - Chancellor 'certain' Brexit will be delayed

Hammond outside 11 Downing Street

Chancellor Philip Hammond has said he is "certain" that MPs will today vote to delay Brexit tonight.

His comments come as European Council president Donald Tusk has indicated the EU would be ready to offer a lengthy extension to negotiations if the UK wants to "rethink its Brexit strategy".

The Chancellor denied being at odds with the Prime Minister, after he called for Parliament to seek a "consensus" solution to Brexit and to "explore other options" if her deal is voted down for a third time next week.


What happened last night?

MPs vote on whether to rule out a no-deal Brexit

Last night MPs voted to rule out a no-deal Brexit under any circumstances, in another major defeat for Theresa May.

The motion to reject a no-deal Brexit passed by a majority of 43, with 321 votes for and 278 votes against. 

Addressing the Commons, Mrs May said: "The legal default in UK and EU law is that the UK will leave the EU without a deal unless something else is agreed. 

"The onus is now on every one of us in this house to find out what that is."