Peterborough by-election: Labour beats Brexit Party by 683 votes

Lisa Forbes is the newly-elected Labour MP for Peterborough

Friday, June 7, 2019

The Labour Party has emerged victorious in the Peterborough by-election, beating the Brexit Party by 683 votes.

Lisa Forbes will now hold the seat in Peterborough, left vacant by disgraced MP Fiona Onasanya.

The constituency, which voted 60.9 per cent to Leave in the 2016 referendum, had been regarded as potentially fertile ground for Nigel Farage's Brexit Party.

But the party failed to secure its first MP, coming second to Labour with 9,801 votes.

The defeated Brexit Party candidate Mike Greene admitted they had been unable to match Labour's established organisation in the constituency.

He was pictured giving a thumbs down behind Ms Forbes as she gave her victory address.

The Conservatives came third place with a total of 7,243 votes, with the Liberal Democrats in at fourth with 4,159.

The Greens came fifth with 1,035 votes.

Addressing the crowd after her win, Ms Forbes hailed the result as a defeat for the Brexit Party's "politics of division".

"Despite the differing opinions across our city, the fact that the Brexit Party have been rejected here in Peterborough shows that the politics of division will not win," she said.

However, the winning candidate came under fire during her campaign for missing a by-election hustings to attend an event with former Prime Minister - and Jeremy Corbyn critic - Gordon Brown.

She previously stood for the Peterborough seat in 2015, but lost out to Conservative MP Stewart Jackson.

Read more

Peterborough by-election: Full list of candidates

Peterborough by-election: Fifteen candidates to stand for seat