Rebel MPs barred from Conservative Party

Boris Johnson has expelled 21 Tory MPs

Wednesday, September 4, 2019

Two former Chancellors were among the 21 Conservative MPs who have been barred from standing for the party at the next election.

Boris Johnson warned rebel members they would lose the whip if they voted against the government on Brexit, however this did not dissuade 21 Tory MPs, who backed a motion which could pave the way for a delay to Brexit if a deal is not agreed.

The group included former Chancellors Kenneth Clarke and Philip Hammond, as well as former Justice Secretary David Gauke and Winston Churchill's grandson, Sir Nicholas Soames.

Rory Stewart came fifth in the leadership contest less than three months ago, and now faces an effective expulsion from the party for his stance.

Justine Greening announced early on Tuesday she would step down at the next election, and called no deal “the most profoundly un-Conservative policy you could possibly have”.

Fellow rebel Alistair Burt called Mr Johnson’s threat to strip the whip from so many senior Conservative MPs a “policy of insanity”.

Mr Johnson has said he will now call a general election, a move that would require the support of two-thirds of the House of Commons.

Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn said: “He wants to table a motion for a general election, fine.”

However he said he would not back a snap poll until no deal was “off the table”.

Liberal Democrat leader Jo Swinson said it was vital Parliament does not enter an election cycle while there is “any risk that we will crash out of the European Union during that election campaign or immediately after”.


The 21 Conservative rebels

Kenneth Clarke: Father of the House and former Chancellor

Philip Hammond: Former Chancellor

David Gauke: Former Justice Secretary

Greg Clark: Former Business Secretary

Sir Oliver Letwin: Former Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster

Justine Greening: Former Education Secretary

Dominic Grieve: Former Attorney General

Rory Stewart: Former International Development Secretary

Sir Nicholas Soames: Grandson of Winston Churchill

Alistair Burt: Former Foreign Office minister

Sam Gyimah: Former leadership candidate

Stephen Hammond: Former health minister

Guto Bebb: Former defence minister

Richard Benyon: Newbury MP

Steve Brine: Former junior health minister

Richard Harrington: Former junior business minister

Margot James: Former digital policy minister

Anne Milton: Former minister for women

Caroline Nokes: Former immigration minister

Antoinette Sandbach: Eddisbury MP

Edward Vaizey: Former culture minister

Read more

Dominic Grieve pledges to fight ‘ruthless ideologue’ Boris Johnson

Dominic Raab to rebel MPs: Do not undermine Brexit deal