Theresa May survives no-confidence vote against her government by 19-vote majority

Theresa May survives no-confidence vote against her government

Prime Minister Theresa May speaking in the House of Commons after surviving the no-confidence vote.

Wednesday, January 16, 2019

Prime Minister Theresa May has survived a no-confidence vote against her by 19 votes.

On Wednesday night, 325 MPs voted to have confidence in the government, with 306 voting in favour of the no-confidence motion.

Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn led the motion of no confidence against the Prime Minister and her government after Mrs May’s Brexit deal was defeated by a majority of 230 votes on Tuesday night.

Speaking after the result, the Prime Minister said: "I am pleased this house has expressed its confidence in the government tonight.

“I do not take this responsibility lightly and my government will continue its work to increase our prosperity, guarantee our security and to strengthen our union.

“We will continue to work to deliver our solemn promise we made to the people of this country to deliver on the result of the referendum and leave the European Union.

“I believe this duty is shared by every member of this house and we have a responsibility to identify a way forward that can secure the backing of the house."


'Constructive spirit' 

Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn speaking in the House of Commons after his motion of no-confidence was defeated. 

The Prime Minister then called on leaders of all parliamentary parties to meet with her individually to discuss the negotiations, starting that evening. 

She added: "The government approaches these meetings in a constructive spirit and I urge others to do the same.

"We must find solutions that are negotiable and command sufficient support in this house.

"We will return to the house on Monday to table an amendable motion and to make a statement about the way forward."

Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn, raising a point of order after the vote, said: "Last night the House rejected the Government's deal emphatically.

"A week ago the House voted to condemn the idea of a no-deal Brexit.

"Before there can be any positive discussions about the way forward, the Government must remove clearly once and for all the prospect of the catastrophe of a no-deal Brexit from the EU and all the chaos that would come as a result of that."


The breakdown of votes

There were 314 Conservative MPs who voted against the no confidence motion, according to the division list.

They were joined by all 10 DUP MPs and Independent Lady Sylvia Hermon.

There were 251 Labour MPs who voted for the motion.

They were joined by 35 SNP, 11 Liberal Democrats, four Plaid Cymru, Green Party MP Caroline Lucas, and Independent MPs Frank Field, Kelvin Hopkins, Stephen Lloyd and Jared O'Mara.