Tory leadership race: Final 10 MPs named

Tory leadership race: Final 10 MPs named

The 10 contenders running to be the next Conservative leader

Monday, June 10, 2019

Ten contenders in the Tory leadership race have been nominated to go through to the first round of voting by MPs.

The candidates are: Michael Gove, Matt Hancock, Mark Harper, Jeremy Hunt, Sajid Javid, Boris Johnson, Andrea Leadsom, Esther McVey, Dominic Raab and Rory Stewart.

The MPs were required to get the backing of eight fellow Conservatives to formally enter the leadership race.

Conservative MP Sam Gyimah pulled out of the race earlier on Monday, after admitting he had not had “enough time to build sufficient support”.

In a statement posted to Twitter, he said: “I entered the Conservative Party leadership contest to broaden the debate and bring the diverse views of millions on Brexit to the fore.”

He added: “But I have reached the conclusion that, having entered the race at such a late stage, there simply has not been enough time to build sufficient support, andI have decided to step back.”

The first round of voting will take place on Thursday in Parliament. 

Candidates will need the support of at least 17 MPs to move onto the next round.

The candidate with the lowest number of votes will be eliminated. 

The new Conservative leader is expected to be chosen by July 22. 

Read more

Sam Gyimah drops out of Tory leadership race

Conservative leadership race: What happens next?