Who is standing in the Peterborough by-election?

Fiona Onsanya

Fiona Onsanya lost the seat after constituents demanded her removal

Friday, May 10, 2019

Fifteen candidates will be fighting for the Peterborough seat vacated by disgraced MP Fiona Onasanya.

The by-election, taking place on June 6, was triggered when constituents signed a recall petition demanding Ms Onasanya's removal.

The independent MP was jailed for perverting the course of justice, and is the first-ever to be removed by the recall process, introduced by David Cameron in 2015.

Last week, Ms Onasanya announced she would not stand in the by-election "in light of the recall result".

Around 19,261 people signed the petition, which is over 27 per cent of registered voters in the Peterborough area, and well above the 10 per cent threshold required for a recall.

And in the EU referendum, 61 per cent of people in the city voted to leave - which the pro-Brexit parties will be hoping to capitalise on.

So who will be fighting for the seat?

The confirmed candidates are:

Brexit Party - Mike Greene

Christian People's Alliance - Tom Rogers

Common Good: Remain in the EU - Dick Rodgers

Conservatives - Paul Bristow

English Democrats - Stephen Goldspink

Green Party - Joseph Wells

Independent - Andrew Moore

Independent - Bobby Smith

Labour - Lisa Forbes

Liberal Democrats - Beki Sellick

Official Monster Raving Loony Party - Alan "Howling Laud" Hope

Renew - Peter Ward

SDP Fighting for Brexit - Patrick O'Flynn

UK European Union Party - Pierre Kirk

UKIP - John Whitby

Read more

Fiona Onasanya: 'I will not stand in by-election'

Fiona Onasanya: Disgraced MP loses House of Commons seat